CALL TODAY FREE ON 0800 038 5370
  • Home
  • Product Page

The Perth Mint

The Perth Mint was established in 1899 as a branch of the British Royal Mint to mint Gold Sovereign coins from the locally mined gold resources of Western Australia. Gold Sovereigns were struck up until 1931 at the mint, but remained in control of the United Kingdom until 1970. The Perth Mint would be re-vitalised in 1987 with the Gold Corporation Act of 1987, which led to the launch of the Australian Bullion Coin programme. To this day, the production of Australian bullion precious metal coins remains central to the success of the mint. Nevertheless, over the last 25 years the mint has also established itself at the forefront of commemorative coin production and played a significant role in partnership with the Royal Australian Mint in producing the commemorative coin programme for the Sydney Olympics of 2000.