CALL TODAY FREE ON 0800 038 5370
  • Home
  • Product Page

United States Mint

The US Mint was created by Congress in 1792 to produce the coinage for the newly independent nation.  Over the history of the mint a number of facilities across the country have been established to strike the nation’s coinage – with the first and still the largest facility housed in the original capital, Philadelphia.  Presently, there are three further coin producing mints – in Denver; San Francisco and West Point – although over the 230 year history of the US Mint branches had been established across the country and as a far afield as Manila in the Philippines.

In recent years, other than the continued production of the circulating coin for the nation, the US Mint has been recognised throughout the world for two incredibly successful programmes.  Since 1986 the annually produced US Eagle has been struck in gold and silver and has become the most popular bullion coin in the world – with collector versions also proving just as successful to this day. 

The State Quarters programme was launched in 1999 and was intended to be a 10 year series, with a coin from each state being issued in order of when they ratified the constitution on a 10 week cycle.  The programme was extremely popular and was recognised throughout the globe – with other international mints drawing inspiration to create other similar coin collections.